Interview with Dimakatso Lukhele

Woman Of Tomorrow magazine spoke to a young woman of tomorrow, making a difference in the South African community through education. Woman Of Tomorrow Magazine asked Dmakatso Lukhele questions about herself and her NGO. This young woman has chosen to do something about the ailing South African education system, she rose up and foundered the “Ambassadors For Education” NGO and has worked with a number of people in making sure that her organisation is successful and reaches the youth. The NGO has created a platform for education for young people it has been in touch with.

Image

1. Who is Dimakatso Lukhele?

Dimakatso Lukhele is the founder of Education Ambassadors SA. A project dedicated to creating education awareness in South Africa.

2. How and Why did you decide to be an ambassador for education?

I grew up in a family where as a woman; you were either destined to be a domestic worker or a stay at home mom. I made a decision at a very young age to never be like that.

Education was so attractive to me, a sexy way for me to breakthrough from what was supposed to be my destiny. Since then, I have never looked back. I was top student in most of my grades up until university level (I’m too dedicated to Education). My life has completely changed and through my education, young kids within my family are inspired to also be educated (funny how one person can change a cycle that doesn’t benefit us).

3. What projects have you been involved in?

We empower youth of South Africa by giving them a platform to showcase their written work on our blog. We have recently been working together with Cape Media Corporation, which assists our writers heavily by publishing their work within their various publications such as Leadership Magazine: http://www.leadershiponline.co.za/articles/TOMORROW-S-LEADERS-9014.html

There’s a myth that a black child doesn’t read, we are busting this myth every day!

4. What is Education Ambassadors SA, what does it do and who do they help?

When I first started the project, I wanted it to merely create Education awareness in SA but I soon realized that the problem goes way deeper. Most of the target youth (mostly black) did not have enough access to educational information. That’s when I decided to post and share with them across all our platforms (Facebook and Twitter) career opportunities from companies hiring i.e. looking for interns, graduates, or offering bursaries.

As a fan on our platforms, you get the opportunity to apply and are notified when both private and government departments have vacancies available. We verify all posts on our platforms to confirm and double check whether they are legit or not. If you are able to see it on our wall, apply and get your dream job!

We have helped numerous youth who are now working and making us proud. We do this every day because we want to make a difference, we do not expect any form of payment from youth we have helped after getting employed or receiving their bursary. We are rewarded every time one of our mission and vision points are reached!

See testimonies from previous students we have helped here:

5. Who else is involved in the project?

I am currently working closely with a gentleman called Nkululeko Lehlohonolo Mosethe. An incredible being, absolutely brilliant! Since he joined the initiative, we have grown extensively. I appreciate him.

6. What are you hoping to achieve through this organisation?

Youth who are:

· Opinionated.

· Influential.

· Educated.

· Involved.

· Entrepreneurs.

· And most importantly, employed.

Image

7. What do you stand for as an individual and education activist?

Equality and a better and improved life for all.

8. Looking at Africa’s Education levels, what do you think needs to be done, to secure the future of education on the continent?

Nelson Mandela once said: “It is through education that a peasant’s daughter can become a doctor, a mine worker’s son can become the head of the mine.” SA needs to prioritise every learner’s educational journey. No system is perfect but I believe we can learn very valuable lessons from how the private schools are run. The first question we have to ask is “why is it that they can obtain matric pass rates of 95% every year”? Yes they pay good money. But I believe the government is also paying good money to run the current education system.

Perhaps how we use the money is part of the problem. We simply throw money at our problems thinking they will be solved. As a country we have one of the biggest social expenditure budgets globally. Pumping all this money is great as it shows we do care. But when that money is thrown in the hands of a few corrupt individuals who enrich themselves, then the cause becomes futile.

As citizens of this country, we need to develop a national pride and consciousness because great countries solve their problems TOGETHER. It’s not up to politicians, business organisations, unionists, and church leaders etc. to fix our education system. It is up to all of us, and we should all play our role in doing our part.

9. Do you consider yourself a leader and why?

Not at all. Perhaps the term leader does not come close to how I even see myself. I’m a mover! I shake, I make beats and I follow my own sound. Am I leader? I could be even better! I’m a woman eager to make a difference! Ambitious and not afraid to dream a little bigger. If anything, those who view me as a leader need to know this about me; I am not afraid to make mistakes! I always, always leave room for disappointment because I am aware that not everything we would like to achieve can go ahead as planned. But that doesn’t mean it won’t happen. It’s a 50/50 chance that you must be willing to take in order to succeed.

Image

10. How has Education shaped you?

I am smarter, able to stand up for myself. I have incredible experience in my field (Public Relations Management and Digital Marketing). Through education, I am offered amazing opportunities on a daily basis. I guess it’s safe to say “Viva Education” 🙂

11. Who inspires you and why?

All women holding it down by creating a better future for either themselves or everyone else.

12. Where do you see your organisation and yourself 10 years from now?

In ten years’ time, I want to see us collaborating and working together with the government and the private sector to make a difference in the lives of many SA youth (black, white or green). I would like to see the organisation as a 1st space for all youth to seek help and get their dream career. Educated youth produce a wealthy economy. This project will benefit SA economy heavily.

13. Who can get involved and how?

Anyone with a passion for education and eager to make a real difference in people’s lives! Visit our social media platforms and blogs to see what we do and if it interests you, see contact details below:

Contact us

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/EducationAmbassadorsSA

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/Edu_Ambassadors

Blog: https://educationambassadors.wordpress.com/about

Email: ambassadorsedu@gmail.com

Remember: “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.” – Nelson Mandela.

Thank you

Perhaps Dimakatso does not see herself as a leader, but Woman Of Tomorrow Magazine definitely sees her as one, we see great things in the stars for this young woman. Education shapes a nation and with more young women like Dimakatso we are sure moving in the right direction as a nation.

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “Interview with Dimakatso Lukhele

  1. Thuto June 11, 2014 at 3:58 pm Reply

    Wow…. Dimakatso I’m proud of you hey. Thuto

Leave a comment